Christmas Special

I’m a day late at doing this, but I wasn’t planning on doing this anyway, but I’ve recently had some very good ideas in mind, so today I will announce the second part of the 2008 wrap-up, namely an artist-by-artist breakdown of what has happened (best, worsts, analysis, etc.). This will not apply to every artist, just to the artists I will list below. But before that:

メリー・クリスマス!

Merry Christmas!

I sort of feel the need to brag about it since I’m overly excited about it, but, maybe you noticed, a few days ago, I added a “purchases” section with all the stuff coming from Japan to Montreal this month. And because this is the first time I’m ordering, I’m really, really excited, and this has been, so far, the best Christmas ever. The first shipment was five CDs: Utada Hikaru’s three latest albums, which I have been playing over and over again, Nichika’s Aijou, not only because it can’t be found anywhere on the internet, but because they are awesome, and L’Arc-en-Ciel’s Kiss. And I got a 120 GB black iPod which has been glued to my ears permanently. Pictures soon enough.

So, back to the artists you will see reviewed starting January 3rd, 2009:

  • Ai Otsuka
  • alan
  • Asian Kung-Fu Generation
  • Ayumi Hamasaki
  • Ikimono Gakari
  • Rie fu
  • YUI

Following will be the fourth part, which will be an overall wrap-up documenting what has happened this year in relation to the artists you see on the right side of the screen. In the mean time, I will finish reviews of stay with me, fairytale, and GIRL NEXT DOOR. You may have noticed, but for the next few weeks, there are no new releases that I will be reviewing, so I will be doing a lot of specials. The vote is doing well, and the poll will be closed on January 1st at seven o’clock, which is when it’s midnight for WordPress, and the results will be declared as the first part of the 2008 wrap-up on January 3rd.

Merry Christmas!

3 Responses to “Christmas Special”


  1. 1 Mogchang December 28, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Sorry for sudden commenting, I’ve been visiting your blog from time to time but never posted anything. :”>

    just some small correction for the big Japanese kanas you typed.
    From my experience of studying and living in Japan, Japanese people never mix クリスマス and おめでとう together, but rather say メリークリスマス!, borrowing the original Merry Christmas in English.
    that’s all. 😀

    • 2 noahfurlani December 28, 2008 at 3:58 pm

      I’ve heard メリークリスマス more often as well, but my Japanese teacher (she is Japanese, but she’s been living in Canada for a while, so maybe she’s mixed it up a bit:) ) was insisting that クリスマスおめでとう. But she tends to use the “old method” (if you know らぬき, she hates that, and doesn’t like its use). Anyway, I suppose I should change it… Thanks for the information!

  2. 3 Mogchang December 30, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    It’s strange, maybe because she’s not among the younger generations. Even people in the 30s and 40s would say so. I don’t know much about how the elder would say, but maybe they would not be interested in that…

    Anyway, have a nice new year and hope your reviews will be further improving. So that you can buy me some time sitting in front of the laptop staring at Jmusic review blogs. ;D
    You might as well put another Happy New Year banner before New Year’s Eve. 良い年を♪


Leave a Reply

